Scientific Commitee

  • Philip C. Calder

    Vice-president Faculty of Medicine. University of Southampton. United Kingdom.


    Philip Calder is Professor of Nutritional Immunology within the Human Development and Health Academic Unit of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Southampton, UK.

    He has broad interests in nutritional modulation of immunity, inflammation and cardiometabolic disease risk. Much of his work has been devoted to exploring the metabolism and functionality of fatty acids with an emphasis on the roles of omega-3 fatty acids. Dr Calder has received several awards for his work including the Sir David Cuthbertson Medal (1995), the Nutricia International Award (2007), the ESPEN Cuthbertson Lecture (2008), the Louisiana State University Chancellor’s Award in Neuroscience and Medicine (2011), the German Society for Fat Science’s Normann Medal (2012), the American Oil Chemists’ Society Ralph Holman Lifetime Achievement Award (2015), the BAPEN Pennington Lecture (2015), the British Nutrition Foundation Prize (2015) and the Danone International Prize for Nutrition (2016). He has served on many committees of professional societies and was President of the International Society for the Study of Fatty Acids and Lipids (2009-2012) and Chair of the Scientific Committee of the European Society for Clinical Nutrition and Metabolism (ESPEN) (2013-2016). He is currently President of the Nutrition Society (2016-2019). He has over 500 scientific publications, his work has been cited over 22,000 times, and he is listed as a Highly Cited Researcher. Dr Calder was Editor-in-Chief of the British Journal of Nutrition from 2006 to 2013 and he is currently an Associate Editor of Clinical Science, Journal of Nutrition, Clinical Nutrition, Lipids, and Nutrition Research. He is a member of the several other Editorial Boards of journals in the nutrition, clinical science and lipidology fields. He receives many invitations to speak and is a consultant to industry. He is a Fellow of the Association for Nutrition and of the Royal Society of Biology.